Williams Racing F1 2018 car launch


Lance Stroll and Sergey Sirotkin will drive for Williams in the 2018 Formula 1 season

Mark Thompson/Getty Images

Alt Text 
Williams Racing F1 2018 car launch

Daniel Ricciardo says Red Bull will go on the ‘attack’ in the new season

One-Minute Read

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 – 1:53pm

Williams Racing set to unveil their new car

There’s just one day to go until Williams Racing takes the wraps off their new car – the FW41. Being held in London tomorrow, Williams are the first Formula One team to unveil the new season design. Chief technical officer Paddy Lowe, who rejoined Williams last March, told Autosport.com that the team are planning “substantial changes” to the car in a bid to improve on last season’s fifth-place finish in the constructors’ championship. 

Ricciardo: Red Bull are ready to attack

While Williams kicks off the launch schedule tomorrow, Red Bull have announced that the unveiling of the RB14 will be held on Monday, 19 February. Speaking ahead of the launch, Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo says that the team are ready to attack in 2018 and will fight to compete with Mercedes and Ferrari. Quoted by Autosport.com, he said: “I feel there is a good intensity [and] we know we have got some work to do if we really want to achieve what we want. We know we have some desires to attack this year – we should be able to fight more often – time will tell. But I am confident.” 

Haas: we are not against American drivers

US-based team Haas have denied they are against hiring an American driver. Despite criticism Haas team boss Guenther Steiner was reported to have said that no US driver was ready yet for F1. In a Q&A, team owner Gene Haas added: “We’re not saying no to having an American driver, but the reality is that of the American drivers who have a superlicence and could actually compete in F1, they should really be with a team that can serve as their benchmark rather than the other way around.” 

Halo is a big challenge for McLaren

The halo cockpit safety device is being introduced in the new season and is providing some challenging times for the F1 teams. McLaren chief engineering officer Matt Morris told F1i.com that the team have had some “heart-stopping moments” with halo testing. He said: “It has been a big challenge. The loads are very, very high. We always knew it was going to be a challenge and we invested some time and money up front to do quite a lot of test pieces. There were quite a few heart-stopping moments when doing the static test that comes in from an oblique angle – where it takes the weight of a London Bus. When you see that test going on, it is pretty scary with the amount of load going in there, which it is designed to do.”

F1 2018: key dates

F1 car launches

When will the 2018 car launches take place?

  • 15 February: Williams
  • 19 February: Red Bull  
  • 20 February: Sauber, Renault 
  • 22 February: Mercedes, Ferrari 
  • 23 February: McLaren
  • 26 February: Toro Rosso
  • To be confirmed: Force India, Haas
2018 testing 

Pre-season testing 

  • 26 February-1 March: Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona 
  • 6-9 March: Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona

In-season testing

  • 15-16 May: Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona 
  • 31 July-1 August: Hungaroring, Budapest
2018 F1 Grand Prix schedule

The 2018 season has 21 races on the calendar:

  • 25 March: Australian Grand Prix, Melbourne 
  • 8 April: Bahrain Grand Prix, Sakhir 
  • 15 April: Chinese Grand Prix, Shanghai 
  • 29 April: Azerbaijan Grand Prix, Baku 
  • 13 May: Spanish Grand Prix, Barcelona 
  • 27 May: Monaco Grand Prix, Monaco 
  • 10 June: Canadian Grand Prix, Montreal 
  • 24 June: French Grand Prix, Le Castellet 
  • 1 July: Austrian Grand Prix, Spielberg 
  • 8 July: British Grand Prix, Silverstone 
  • 22 July: German Grand Prix, Hockenheim 
  • 29 July: Hungarian Grand Prix, Budapest 
  • 26 August: Belgian Grand Prix, Spa-Francorchamps 
  • 2 September: Italian Grand Prix, Monza 
  • 16 September: Singapore Grand Prix, Marina Bay 
  • 30 September: Russian Grand Prix, Sochi 
  • 7 October: Japanese Grand Prix, Suzuka 
  • 21 October: United States Grand Prix, Austin 
  • 28 October: Mexican Grand Prix, Mexico City 
  • 11 November: Brazilian Grand Prix, Sao Paulo 
  • 25 November: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Marina

Featured Articles