Wednesday, October 11, 2017

The Ballon d’Or is the most prestigious individual award in world football.

In recent years it has been dominated by two familiar faces – Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo – with the pair winning all of the past nine awards between them (Messi took five, Ronaldo has four).

Judged by a panel of journalists, the Ballon d’Or ran in conjunction with FIFA from 2010 until 2015, when the governing body split to create its own – and much less prestigious – Best Player award.

But what was the football world like before the big two took over? That’s what is looking at, stretching back to 2000.

It is also interesting to see who made it into voters’ lists of the top ten footballers in the world from every year since the turn of the millennium.

MORE: Ballon d’Or reject XI featuring players who failed to make the 2017 30-man shortlist.

Scroll through the Ballon d’Or lists to see the winner and those who made the top 10 every year since 2000.

Yorkshire devolution: Archbishop asked to help in stalemate
'Urgent shortage' of radiologists in Wales
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
More in England-Sports
Transfer report: Chelsea refusing to give up chase for Juventus full-back Alex Sandro